Class Notes





Michael Lubin ’68
New York, NY
 Michael was named Distinguished Undergraduate Alumnus of the Year by the College of Arts and Sciences at Homecoming 2018. He was honored for his work pioneering communications technology and helping develop a cell phone with an IP address that some regard as the first smartphone. He earned his bachelor’s degree in physics at Case Institute of Technology before going on to Yale for his master’s. Since 2005, he has been vice president of corporate development and senior advisor at ViaSat.



Choon Heung Lee, MS ’89, PhD ‘93
Jiangyin, China
Choon Heung has been appointed Chief Executive Officer of Jiangsu Changjiang Electronics Technology Co. (JCET Group), a provider of advanced semiconductor packaging and test services headquartered in Jiangyin, China. Lee, who holds 59 industry patents, has served in several senior management positions in the semiconductor industry, most recently with Amkor Technology Inc. He earned his doctorate in theoretical physics from Case Western Reserve.



Carlos Grodsinsky, MS ’91, PhD ‘93
Hinckley, Ohio
Carlos, the chief operating officer at ZIN Technologies, a Middleburg Heights provider of engineering and product development services to NASA and the U.S. Department of Defense, was recently named to the board of the Aerozone Alliance. The business group hopes to create an aerospace-oriented jobs hub around Cleveland Hopkins International Airport and the NASA Glenn Research Center. An expert in space flight instrumentation, Carlos told Crain’s Cleveland Business he thinks the alliance can help to reinvigorate the regional economy.

Rina Banerjee ‘93
Philadelphia, PA
Rini had her artwork presented by the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts in a major fall exhibition, Rina Banerjee: Make Me a Summary of the World, co-organized with the San José Museum of Art. Considered one of the most important artists of the post-colonial Indian diaspora living in the United States, her work has been shown most extensively in Europe and South Asia. Born in Calcutta, India, in 1963, she received her Bachelor of Science degree in Polymer Engineering from Case in 1993 and took a job as a polymer research chemist upon graduation. Rini later earned her MFA in fine arts from Yale University.


D.M. Pulley ’99
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Doreen used her Civil Engineering degree and love of old buildings to dive into a career as a forensic engineer, investigating structural failures in Cleveland buildings. That experience, and a fascination with the Torso Murders of the 1930s, inspired her latest mystery thriller, “The Unclaimed Victim.” Parts of the novel are set in the Gospel Union Press Building in Tremont, which Doreen describes as  a place full of bizarre choices and hidden rooms, more than 175,000 square feet with no master planning. Order the book via